A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

this is the start of something, learning to farm in Petaluma

On my friend's farm in Petaluma. . .

On my friend's farm in Petaluma. . .

Moving to San Francisco some 10 years ago changed my life. More to the point, it opened-up my life. I blossomed here.

My dad was a gardener by vocation, and avocation. Green was in my genes but I’d never tried gardening as a kid. . . I just didn’t know it yet. I loved to draw, though. . .

Moving to San Francisco, I discovered truly great food. Great ingredients. Now, I wanted to find out more about the source of my food. I wanted to make it myself. I became selective about the food I chose. I started going to farmers markets.

I also moved into an apartment with unused space in the lot behind. I took it over, with the blessing of the neighbors. I had the idea I’d start an ornamental garden. I taught myself to garden by digging in the dirt every day. I grew to understand the plants by watching them, season to season, year by year.

Understanding plants and developing an appreciation for food have become essential parts of my life. It’s only natural that I would want to explore the area in which they overlap and, that’s farming. Enter my dear friend T-.

We’re on a similar trajectory, T- and I. Having never had much experience either, he’s developed his passion for farming only within the past few years, and how quickly and easily he’s succumbed to it. A fellow San Francisco resident, he’s found a way to rent a plot in distant Petaluma, which he tends as often as he can get away, getting his plant-starts established in his kitchen growing station.  He’s graciously invited me to help him in his grand endeavor, and now I have a new home away from home.

Stay tuned for more posts from the farm. This is the start of something. . .

Here’s a video I find inspiring. It neatly sums up the lure of the farm, and suggests why it is that so many people nowadays are going back to their roots, by learning how to grow their own food.

 

on the farm.

heirloom carrots!

..

egyptian beets!

egyptian beets!

..

egyptian beets!

egyptian beets!

..

pumpkin!

pumpkin!

..

the Petaluma farm

the Petaluma farm

3 responses

  1. Heartwarming video.

    February 19, 2012 at 9:29 pm

  2. Pingback: forming bonds in the green community as a member of the EcoTuesday Meetup group « MUS•e•YUM

Leave a Reply

