A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

scooter ride, Bernal Heights

Bernal Heights is a such a cool neighborhood. Slightly squished between the Mission, Potrero Hill and Alemaney Blvd, Bernal is a sweet spot that’s a little less traveled, and a little less known. It is sort of a frontier outpost of the City, and a lot laid-back. A week before my birthday, I thought I’d treat myself to a trip here. My itinerary included most of my favorite things: scooter exploring, a nature walk, a bakery (ok, two), succulents and a farmer’s market. Here are some of the sights:

 

the view from home before leaving for Bernal

the view from home before leaving for Bernal

 

 

Succulence, a great plant shop in Bernal Heights

Succulence, a great indoor/outdoor plant shop in Bernal Heights

 

 

early birthday gift to myself, a succulent from the plant store, Succulence (crassulaceae diagremontiana)

early birthday gift to myself, a succulent from the plant store, Succulence (crassulaceae diagremontiana)

 

 

the designer installing new benches at Sandbox; gorgeous work!

the designer installing new benches at Sandbox; gorgeous work!

 

 

pastries at Sandbox Bakery, bBernal Heights

pastries at Sandbox Bakery, bBernal Heights

 

 

I went with the chocolate, hazelnut, almond cream and sea salt bun. It was really good.

I went with the chocolate, hazelnut, almond cream and sea salt bun. It was really good.

 

 

Bernal Heights Park, San Francisco

Exploring Bernal Heights Park, San Francisco

 

 

View from one bridge to the other at the top of Bernal Heights park

You can see both the Golden Gate Bridge and the Bay Bridge from the top of Bernal Heights park

 

 

shopping at the Collective, 6 retailers share one business storefront space

shopping at the Bernal Heights Co-op, where 6 retailers share one business storefront space

 

 

A woman after my own heart, the super-friendly owner of Wholesome Bakery is also into motorcycle rider, -heart!!

A woman after my own heart, the super-friendly and beautiful owner of Wholesome Bakery is also a motorcycle rider, -heart!! The goods here are wheat, dairy and egg free.

 

 

why yes, I'll have a snickerdoodle sandwich to go with my chai, thank you!

why yes, I'll have a snickerdoodle sandwich to go with my chai, thank you!

 

 

if you're in Bernal Heights on a Saturday morning, check out the Alemaney Farmer's Market!

if you're in Bernal Heights on a Saturday morning, check out the Alemaney Farmer's Market!

 

 

persimmons and pomegranates in season at Alemaney Farmer's Market

persimmons and pomegranates in season at Alemaney Farmer's Market

 

One response

  1. Pingback: gift ideas, anyone? « MUS•e•YUM

Leave a Reply

