A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

garden snapshot, succulent metamorphosis, Echeveria ‘Topsy Turvy’

"before" shot, succulent in my garden

Echeveria 'Topsy Turvy', as it looks now in my garden

over a period of time that seemed like overnight, the shape of this succulent transformed as it shot up two flower stalks, giving it an almost lynx-like appearance. Compare to these pics which show you how it looked last month. . .

Cotyledon orbiculata, before photo

Echeveria 'Topsy Turvy', the "before" photo

Thanks for the plant ID FarOutFlora. . . this is EcheveriaTopsy Turvy

4 responses

  1. Megan

    It looks like it might be Echeveria ‘Topsy Turvy’. Love the wine bottles!

    August 25, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    • Hey FarOutFlora! thanks so much for your comment! The wine bottles work really well as borders, and I’ve got another plan for them, which I hope to work on in the coming spring!
      In the meantime, here’s a link to another of my posts, which talks about the bottles and how they’ve become little terrariums!
      https://markevnic72.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/garden-discovery/
      I follow your blog regularly so it’s especially nice to hear from you. Thanks for all your great posts!

      August 25, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  2. Megan

    Your garden transformation is amazing! I love the little plants growing in the wine bottles. Glad I finally found your blog 🙂 What’s your garden looking like these days?

    August 25, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    • Glad to find your blog! Thanks for asking about the garden, it’s really coming along this year. This spring and summer I’ve spent a lot of time with building a structure, digging paths, making stone walls and the wine bottle borders, and creating seating areas. I’m finally getting to the point of transferring plants from my pots to the ground and it’s really satisfying. I broke my camera a few months ago and got a new one this week, so hope to catch up on the photos, soon 🙂

      August 26, 2010 at 10:26 am

Leave a Reply

