A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

one less car . . .

Kaiju


20080613_scooter_GGB_3 (8)

Originally uploaded by markevnic72

No doubt the scooter is one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. And yes, I’ve named him. I call him Kaiju.

Having spent years using public transit (which was a fine, if time consuming option) life on two wheels of my own has made getting around San Francisco a dream. It’s given me a newfound feeling of freedom. It’s my wings.

I never realized until I had one just how FUN they are. I originally bought Kaiju to get to and from work quickly, putting behind me the hassles of waiting for bus connections, or waiting through service delays of the subway system. The gas is cheap relative to using a car; I use a gallon every ten days or so. And parking is far easier than it is for a car; I can utilize the gaps between parked cars, or the tiny bits of sidewalk between the driveways of houses, or any of the plentiful motorcycle parking places in the city.

But all those eminently useful arguments aside, riding on two wheels is just plain fun. And going for a ride has become an aim, in and of itself.

San Francisco is made for it. As cars inch block to block, stuck in a city not made for traffic, the scooter can leap ahead, when it is safe of course, getting you there just a little bit faster. Riding along the beach or over the hills, the scooter becomes a means to explore. There are seven hills in San Francisco and I believe I’ve ridden every one of them. It’s nice to be able to pull over easily whenever you want to take in the view. It’s nice to be able to feel the air as you ride.

2006 Blur

2006 Blur

I ride a 2006 Blur, a 150cc bike made by Genuine Scooter Company.

2006 Blur

2006 Blur

Leave a Reply

