A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

best ice cream in San Francisco, Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

I’d been meaning to check this place out for a while now and Stephen G’s review on Yelp was the tipping point. I made a quick run after work yesterday and Mr and Mrs M. did not disappoint; I loved this place! And I’m going to go back tomorrow, too, so that’s twice in one weekend. If that’s not an endorsement, I don’t know what is. My intention was to get the Ballbark but couldn’t resist trying another flavor, all of them looked so good.

ice cream flavors at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

ice cream flavors at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

I sampled the Candied Violet and ultimately went with it. And, in my judgement, it just might be one of the best ice creams I’ve ever had.

Candied violet ice cream from Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

Candied violet ice cream from Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

The combination of the floral (real pieces of bright purple candied violet petals) with the notes of limoncello and lemon zest, made magic. What I really appreciate about this place is that the flavors are enticingly inventive without being a ‘dare’, if you know what I mean…

Then, there was that cookie. Before paying for my ice cream I spied a stack of chocolate chip like you wouldn’t believe.

chocolate chip cookie at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

chocolate chip cookie at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

I picked mine up, still WARM, and it actually started to bend in my hand. I’m not a crispy cookie kind of guy, I’m a “THIS-KIND” of chocolate cookie kind of guy. There was some nice browning on the outside, just crispy enough to contain a contrastingly melty, buttery and gooey center. Lots of chips. Awesome cookie. Maybe the best.

close up of chocolate chip cookie from Mr and Mrs Miscellaneous

close up of chocolate chip cookie from Mr and Mrs Miscellaneous

So, I’m having friends over for dinner tomorrow and what’s for dessert? I don’t know yet, but I do know I’m going back to Mr and Mrs Miscellaneous to get it!

sign in the window at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

sign in the window at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

Peanut brittle at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous, San Francisco

Peanut brittle at Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous, San Francisco

5 responses

  1. Pingback: San Francisco’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies – San Francisco Restaurants and Dining – SFoodie « MUS•e•YUM

  2. Pingback: gift ideas, anyone? « MUS•e•YUM

  3. Pingback: a foodie news roundup for you! « MUS•e•YUM

  4. Pingback: Ice cream in the Dogpatch « MUS•e•YUM

  5. Pingback: if you’re looking for a great gift idea. . . « MUS•e•YUM

Leave a Reply

