A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

great bakeries in San Francisco, Thorough Bread & Pastry

If butter is love then this is an . . . ‘uncomplicated’ relationship.

Thorough Bread and Pastry, San Francisco

Thorough Bread and Pastry, San Francisco

I adore Thorough Bread and in fact, I’ve made it part of my week. It’s my reward actually. Conveniently located on the way to work, I love starting the workday here with the expectation of being greeted not only by the overflowing case of gorgeous pastries and breads, but also by the friendliness of the bakers who work there. (And, I’ll confess, B. in particular!)

A working bakery, you can watch a small army of bakers working, cheerfully I might add, just feet from you as you order your breads at Thorough Bread. The café is affiliated with the San Francisco Baking Institute, so you can expect consistency and the highest bar in terms of quality. The variety is bountiful. The butter is plentiful.

Everything I’ve ever bought at Thorough Bread has, in my experience, been the best of its kind. From muffins to scones to croissants to cookies and so much more, I don’t believe you can go wrong here. There are also other items on regular rotation that I’ve not seen before in any other bakery. You owe it to yourself to try the bostock for instance. . . a thick-cut slice of brioche soaked in rum which is then baked with a layer of almond cream with sliced almonds and finally, finished with a dusting of powdered sugar. Or try the Gibassier, an impossibly light and airy bready doughnut, gently perfumed with orange zest and cardamom, finished with a light dusting of sugar (still, overall it avoids being ‘too’ sweet) The almond croissant is to die for.

Beyond breakfast and breads, there’s a small menu of sandwiches available for lunch. Enjoy on in the lovely garden patio located toward the back of the store surrounded by birds, vines and succulents:-)

I’ve been spreading the word about Thorough Bread in my own small way because when I find a local business with heart, like this one, I want to support it in any way I can. I love my neighborhood- and Thorough Bread & Pastry is a big part of what I love about it!

Thorough Bread and Pastry

248 Church St

(between Market St & 15th St)

San Francisco, CA 94114

Neighborhood: Castro

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: gift ideas, anyone? « MUS•e•YUM

  2. Pingback: dessert landscapes series: coffee cake at Thorough Bread and Pastry « MUS•e•YUM

  3. Pingback: dessert landscapes, the bostock « MUS•e•YUM

  4. Pingback: if you’re looking for a great gift idea. . . « MUS•e•YUM

Leave a Reply

