A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

2 new stairs!

This past Monday, I saw a picture of some sweet garden stairs, made from stacked broken cement pieces.  As luck would have it, there’s a dumpster a block away while the neighbors are doing their own yard construction project.  Although most of the cement they’ve discarded is too small for stairs, after a little digging Tuesday morning I found 2 large, flat pieces that would work well. (I also hauled over 8 buckets of  sandy soil for my succulents!) So the next day, Wednesday morning (also before heading in to the office) I dug out a hole in the side of my mound of dirt and made some steps!

stairs, newly stacked.

Stay tuned, if I find another dumpster (or broken sidewalk), there will be more steps to follow. In the meantime, I’ve started a little rockery off to the side with the smallish pieces I found, and succulents will find a home there.

Leave a Reply

