A rotating exhibit of the things I love most about living in San Francisco.

restaurant favorites: Company

photo of warm ricotta

Warm, house-made ricotta cheese, served with artichoke tapenade and fresh-from-the-oven bread.

Photos of the food at Company Restaurant, SF

 

Company, you had me at the house-made ricotta cheese. Served warm from the kitchen. With toasted house-made bread. And in-season fruit…

Every time I go to Company, and this restaurant is on my very regular rotation, part of me thinks I could eat this dish and only this. But then there’s always something new on the menu that snaps me out of that fantasy. A chopped salad with seasonal fruits. A warm soup featuring the vegetable found in the farmers market this morning. The lamb. Oh god, the lamb…

What then ensues is this. Ricotta as a starter for the table to share. Maybe two orders. The topping will change seasonally but has been as varied as balsamic strawberry, peaches, honey, or an artichoke tapenade. With that order in, don’t miss out on a soup. The celeriac was a recent favorite, its texture perfectly velvety and smooth and exquisitely aromatic.

As for the main, the burger, roast chicken, and steak frites are always on the menu. I’ve had each one. Served with a blue cheese, the burger is an umami explosion, with a nicely charred exterior and ideally pink interior. The bun is made in house. The fries, tossed with cheese, are candy. The steak has always arrived perfectly cooked and the roast chicken as well, moist and flavorful.

Dessert could very well be the ricotta again. Or try the pot de creme. I’ve also had the fruit crisp with house-made ginger ice cream, which I loved. Get two, to share for the table. Yes, there’s room…

People ask me what my favorite restaurant is, and I have to say that Company is it. I’ve been coming to this restaurant since fall of 2012, and it’s been consistently wonderful. It’s right in the center of the hottest neighborhood, the Mission. But it doesn’t have the attitude. No matter the occasion, the food is right and the ambience is, too. The host always greats with a smile and if you’re lucky, you’ll get a seat in the front window, so you can enjoy the street life of this sweet corner in the Mission. I’ve come here for my birthday, for others’ birthdays, to treat the friend in from out of town, to send off two friends on their last night in town before moving back to the East Coast. For a solitary meal at the bar after a long day at work. The restaurant is just right for so many occasions. Casual, inviting, with top notch food.

Company Restaurant
1000 Guerrero St
San Francisco, CA 94110

(415) 374-7479

One response

  1. I second the motion on Company. It’s been my favorite restaurant since you introduced me to it, for which i am grateful. The lamb, oh yes, the ineffable lamb. But hey, the chicken wing confit is somewhere near miraculous.

    May 3, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers